North Stars’ Wolframe named SIJHL’s best defensive forward of 2016-17



Release Date: Thursday, March 16, 2017

Photo credit: Gary Moskalyk

North Stars’ Wolframe named SIJHL’s best defensive forward of 2016-17

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Thursday that Thunder Bay North Stars captain Brett Wolframe has been named the SIJHL’s best defensive forward award recipient for the 2016-17 season.

Wolframe earned the honour over fellow best defensive forward nominees Nic Noseworthy of the Dryden GM Ice Dogs and Jared Virtanen of the Fort Frances Lakers, in voting completed by each of the league’s member clubs.

A fierce competitor, who is asked to play against the other team’s best players on a nightly basis, is strong on face-offs and helped the North Stars boast over an 80 percent success rate while shorthanded.

The 20-year-old Thunder Bay product also set personal single-season highs in goals, assists and points with seven, 17 and 24 respectively.

Wolframe becomes the eighth North Stars player in SIJHL history to earn these accolades.

The following are the SIJHL’s all-time best defensive forward award recipients:

2016-17: Brett Wolframe, Thunder Bay North Stars
2015-16: Dylan Robertson, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Wyatt Cota, Fort Frances Lakers (Co-winner)
2014-15: Kris Kellaway, Thunder Bay North Stars (Co-winner)
2013-14: Jonathon Losurdo, Minnesota Iron Rangers
2012-13: Jeremy Johnson, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Sam Dubinsky, Thunder Bay North Stars
2010-11: Blake Boaz, Fort Frances Lakers
2009-10: Ryan Magill, Fort William North Stars
2008-09: Cale Brown, Fort William North Stars (Co-winner)
2008-09: Mitch Cain, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres (Co-winner)
2007-08: Travis Jaspers, Fort William North Stars
2006-07: Jason MacMillan, Thunder Bay Bearcats
2005-06: Jordan Chong, Dryden Ice Dogs
2004-05: Matt Tryuba, Dryden Ice Dogs
2003-04: Cory Bruno, Fort William North Stars
2002-03: Tom Grant, Fort William North Stars
2001-02: Josh Baxter, Borderland Thunder (Co-winner)
2001-02: Tom Grant, Thunder Bay Bulldogs (Co-winner)